The Most Devine Cupcakes You Will Ever Make

Posted on Updated on

Lately, I have been craving cake LIKE NO OTHER. I have an unreasonably large sweet tooth, and once I get a craving, there is no looking back.

On days like these, I usually turn to Pinterest for some much needed winter baking inspiration. Pinterest has a fabulous selection of recipes, from healthy dinner options and unique cocktails to mouthwatering cakes and rustic pies.Usually, my Pinterest adventure leads me to some sort of innovative food blog that makes me feel bad about my own blog because it’s way cooler than mine. In this case, it was yourcupofcake.com, by fellow Oregonian Lizzy Mae Early! I love reading blogs from other Oregonians. Anyways, I’ll get to the point. You’re dying to see this recipe, right?

I want to share one of my favorite cupcake recipes that I stumbled upon last year when looking to satisfy my unrelenting sweet tooth. It was fairly easy to follow and didn’t take a terribly long time to make, so I would recommend this to anyone who wants to step outside of their boring cupcake box.

Alas, banana cupcakes with peanut butter cream cheese frosting. Need I say more?

For the banana cupcakes you will need:

  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • i stick (1/2 cup) softened butter
  • 1 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed banana
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk

For the peanut butter cream cheese frosting you will need:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 4 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 8 fun size butterfingers (I used a crushed Hershey bar)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Sift together flower, baking powder and salt. Set Aside.
  • In a separate bowl, cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy.
  • Add one egg at a time then add mashed banana.
  • Alternate adding flour and buttermilk until everything is combined. Don’t over mix.

18

Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out.

24

For the frosting:

  • Beat cream cheese and butter until light
  • Add peanut butter and let mix for two minutes
  • Alternate adding powdered sugar and heavy cream (Only add as much powdered sugar as you like because some like it sweeter than others.)

Just a heads up, the recipe gave me WAY more frosting than I needed, so unless you plan on piping heaps of frosting on each cake, cut the recipe back by a 1/3.

155

There they are! Okay, they aren’t exactly pretty, but my stomach didn’t know the difference. They were the most moist, dense cupcakes that I have ever made. I was honestly impressed with myself.

I will say that next time I make these I am going to experiment with a peanut butter buttercream frosting. Don’t get me wrong, normally I am a sucker for cream cheese frosting, but the cream cheese added a tangy element that didn’t mesh as well with the banana cake as I would have liked. But they were scrumptious nonetheless!

Be on the lookout for more recipes coming soon!

One thought on “The Most Devine Cupcakes You Will Ever Make

    carlyschoonhoven said:
    February 9, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Oh my goodness I bet those taste amazing! I’ve always felt like desserts taste better the less pretty they are. If the frosting is too perfect looking it’s probably not very delicious! I am obsessed with looking at recipes on Pinterest but I almost never make the ones I pin. You’ve inspired me to go through my pins again and start actually cooking some things!

Leave a Reply

